MMA home           Captain Charles H. Hurley Library
Smart Start
@ MMA Library
Search the
Library Catalog

HOURS
Key Databases
for MMA

Off-Campus Access

Subject Guides
&Tutorials

What's New
 SUGGESTIONS
Recommend purchasing
a book or journal


Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge= Open Access
Library
Key Databases and Electronic Resources Off-Campus Access


A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  XYZ     Product Trials

A

Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge ABS (American Bureau of Shipping)
  • International Directory of Offices. Search for a person, a location, a department or office. Provides free access to ABS reports, journals and other publications, rules and regulations, etc. Register (free) for email alerts and newsletters.
  • ABS Record. Use to search for vessels.
Academic OneFile [Thompson/Gale-Infotrac]
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects and provides access to millions of journal articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily. Powersearch
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] Tutorial
Full-text journals. Multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated daily.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Africana
Index of Africana arts and humanities materials acquired by one or more of 18 participating U.S. institutions.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge AgeLine - American Association of Retired Persons (AARP)
Index to literature in social gerontology, which is the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge AGRICOLA - U.S. Department of Agriculture
A comprehensive database for both U.S. and international agriculture information. Note: See the AGRIS International database for a heavier emphasis on non-U.S. issues in agriculture.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge AGRIS - Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
International information system for the agricultural sciences and technology.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge AIDSinfo Drug Database - U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Use to find drug information related to AIDS.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge American Fact Finder - U.S. Census Bureau
Census data. Provides population, housing, income, economic and geographic data. Selected data from 1990 and 2000 with mapping feature.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge American Memory Project
Primary source materials from the Library of Congress, includes digital items such as George Washington's letters, Civil War photographs, women sufferage materials, early maps, etc.
Animals/EBSCO Animals [EBSCO] Tutorial
Provides in-depth zoological information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts New 1 Jul 08
Covers trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals, as well as special issues such as buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings. Use for engineering, technology, and science.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Archimer - Ifremer
Institutional Repository provides full-text documents online (publications, theses, conference proceedings, etc) in all fields related to oceans (oceanography, aquaculture, fisheries, etc). The site is available in French and English; most documents are available in English.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS) - Arctic Institute of North America
Contains over 50,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada and other Arctic regions. ASTIS has simple and advanced search forms, and links to full text when it is available on the Web.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA Online) - Getty Conservation Institute
A comprehensive database of over 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge ArXiv.org e-Print Archive - Cornell University
Pre-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science and quantitative biology.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Atmospheric Science Resources - NOAA
Use for weather, climate and atmospheric studies. Includes: Weather Observations & Forecasting, Climate Data, Maps, Charts & Publications Open Access E-Journals, Career & Education Information, Air Quality & Pollution, Severe Weather, and more.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Audio Engineering Society Journal Article Database
Journal articles from Volume 1 (1953) - Volume 45 (1997). Search for free; request articles you want through Interlibrary Loan.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Avano: Marine and Aquatic Sciences Harvester - Ifremer
Institutional Repository provides full-text documents online (publications, theses, conference proceedings, etc) in all fields related to oceans (oceanography, aquaculture, fisheries, etc). The site is available in French and English; most documents are available in English.

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  XYZ

Back to Top

B

Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Bartleby.com
American and English poetry works between 1250 and 1920. Offers numerous anthologies including "The Oxford Book of English Verse", the "Yale Book of American Verse" and "Modern American and British Poetry".
Biography Resource Center [Thompson/Gale-Infotrac]
More than 50 biographical databases with full-text periodicals (Over 270 full-text sources). Contains nearly 414,000 biographies on more than 320,000 people gathered from more than 840 volumes of more than 135 Gale reference sources as well as full-text articles from more than 270 magazines specifically chosen for their renowned biographical content in a broad range of subject areas. Covers science, multicultural studies, business, politics, government, history, entertainment, sports, the arts, and literature.  Research Guide
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Biology Browser
Information resources and updates for the life sciences information community. Free access to resources such as the Nomenclature Glossary for Zoology and the Zoological Record Thesaurus. Find useful information collected from outside sources, with links to current science news stories, relevant web sites and more. Browse by organism, subject and/or geography.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic [EBSCO] Tutorial
Designed for doctors, research scientist, students and clinical specialists, this database provides full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study. All titles included in this database are al,so indexed in MEDLINE.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge The Brookings Institution
The Advanced Search allows you to query and retrieve full text of the Brookings Institution research reports.
Business Searching Interface [EBSCO] Tutorial
Provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.
Business Source Premier [EBSCO] Tutorial
This is the industry's most used business research database, providing the full text for more than 8,800 serials. Business Source Premier provides full text back to 1965 and searchable cited references back as far as 1998. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database is updated daily.SWOT analysis on selected companies.

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  XYZ

Back to Top

C

Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge CancerLit - National Library of Medicine (NLM)
Index to Biomedical journals, proceedings, books, reports, and doctoral theses relating to cancer.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Catalogue of Life - Dynamic Checklist
A uniform and validated index to the world's known species for use as a practical tool in inventorying and monitoring biodiversity worldwide. The Dynamic Checklist of the Catalogue of Life allows you to search for scientific species name or browse the taxonomic tree. A variety of online species databases are searched simultaneously. When the search has been completed, the species names that were found are listed.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge ChemFinder.com
Provides free chemical searching. Includes: Chemical Structures, 2D structures & 3D models, Physical Properties, MP, BP, CAS RN, and links to other websites with information about your compound.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge CHID (Combined Health Information Database) - National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Produced by health-related agencies of the Federal Government, this database provides titles, abstracts, and availability information for health information and health education resources.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge CIA World Factbook (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Detailed information about countries around the world, including country profiles, maps, flags of the world. Statistical information is given in metric units.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Civil Engineering Database - American Society of Civil Engineers
Provides access to over 100,000 bibliographic and abstracted records. This is not a full text database. To get the full text of an article or proceedings paper, contact us. Coverage: 1970 - Present
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Clearinghouse for Dam Removal Information - University of California Berkeley
Repository of information about technical, fiscal, social aspects, pros & cons of dam removal, including cases where a decision is made to retain the dam.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Clinical Trials - National Library of Medicine
A guide to clinical research in human volunteers being conducted in the USA.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Code of Federal Regulations
General and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the U.S. Federal Government.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Codes of Ethics Online - Illinois Institute of Technology
Online source for the full-text of codes of ethics for several professions.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Collect Britain
Links to over 100,000 images and sounds selected from the British Library's historical collections. Resources included: maps, books, topographical drawings, stamps, photographs, newspapers, music and sound clips which illustrate regional accents and dialects, as well as wildlife recordings.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge comPADRE Pathway
Digital resources for physics and astronomy education. Access is free, but you must register to search the Compadre Portal and ComPADRE network, participate in forums, and personalize the interface.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online - Univ. of Cambridge
Contains every Darwin publication as well as many of his handwritten manuscripts. Includes a biography, images, audio.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Congressional Research Service Reports - National Council for Science & the Environment
Briefing documents for Congress on environmental and current issues.
Contemporary Literary Criticism - Select [Thompson/Gale-Infotrac]
Critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after 1959. Initial release features 50 authors derived from CLC print volumes 95-99 and 50 retrospective entries. Updates of 10-12 new authors will be added about 6 times a year as print volumes are published and 10-20 retrospective entries will be added each time. CLC Select may be searched separately or simultaneously with Contemporary Authors and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Country Profiles - BBC News
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio or video clips from BBC archives. Contain information on the different types of press available in the country.
Credo Reference
   
Provides 24/7 online access to over 200 key interdisciplinary, general reference sources.
Click here to browse subjects and available titles.
Curriculum Resource Center [Facts On File]
Provides handouts arranged by subject (e.g., history, geography, science, mathematics). Handouts can be saved, emailed, printed, or distributed for educational purposes.

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  XYZ

Back to Top

D

Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Dewey Research Advisor (DRA) - MIT Libraries
Business knowledge database "that provides starting points for specific research questions in the fields of business, management, and economics." The 21 browsable topics in the FAQ range from banking to taxation and accounting, and answer such questions as "Where can I find historical rates for U.S. treasury bills, notes, and bonds?", "How do I write a business plan?" and "Where can I find information on the debt of individual countries?" Search or browse; access to some content is limited.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge dialnet - Universidad de La Rioja
A free, scientific portal to research-level journals, reports and theses. Includes many full text, Open Access journal articles primarily in English and Spanish. Registration is required to receive alerts and to access other personalized options. Registered users may choose any journal's table of contents via electronic alerts, as soon as new issues are published.
Dictionary of Literary Biography [Thompson/Gale]
Provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Dictionary of English Nautical Language - SeaTalk
Nautical dictionary, complete with usage, examples suggesting good seamanship, images of ships and gear.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Directory of Open Access Journals : DOAJ - Lund University Libraries
Provides full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Covers all languages in general and Interdisciplinary subjects.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Directory of Published Proceedings (DoPP)
Includes material from over 280,000 conferences, congresses, meetings and symposia. For information about future meetings, use MInd
Directory of State Legislatures (National Conference of State Legislatures) [MMA Only]
Includes information on every state legislature in the United States. MMA is registered to access NCSLnet services, but you must logon to search the database. Obtain the username and password from the Library Director.
Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Dissertations
  • Foreign Doctoral Dissertations
  • Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge DTIC's STINET (Scientific & Technical Information Network) - Defense Technical Information Center
    Citations to reports from DTIC, a clearinghouse for a variety of defense-related scientific and technical publications. Through the STINET database, DTIC indexes and abstracts these reports, providing full-text to some reports.  Search DTIC's Technical Report Collection

    A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  XYZ

    Back to Top

    E

    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Earthquake Engineering Research Laboratory Technical Reports [CalTech]
    Includes some of the earliest published work on strong-motion earthquake accelerograms, and considerable research springing from the San Fernando, Whittier Narrows, Landers and Northridge earthquakes. EERL was founded in the 1960s, and began publishing results of its research in a technical report series in 1970.Publication continues to the present.
    ebrary  [MMA ONLY] New 1 Aug 07
    Over 40,000 college level e-books available online - 24/7/365.
    Ebsco: Search Multiple Databases
    Allows you to choose multiple Ebsco databases to search, simultaneously.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge ECOLEX - FAO, IUCN and UNEP
    Gateway to global environmental law resources (treaties, national legislation, court decisions & publications--includes full-text).
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge EDGAR Database - U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission New 1 Apr 08
    1994-present. Full text of public filings. Good for annual (10-K) and quarterly (10-Q) reports of publically traded companies.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Educators Desk Reference
    EDR is maintained by the Educational Resources Information Center, a part of the Information Institute of Syracuse at Syracuse University. The site includes most of the information formerly included in AskERIC, including a database of over 2000 lesson plans for grades K-12 and higher education.
    Educator's Reference Complete [Thompson/Gale-Infotrac, formerly Professional Collection]
    250 full-text titles for library and education professionals.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge EEVL: The Internet Guide to Engineering, Mathematics & Computing
    EEVL's mission is to provide access to quality networked engineering, mathematics and computing resources, and be the national focal point for online access to information in these subjects. This site may link to journals not included in the MMA Library. To obtain journal articles identified by the EEVL please contact the library staff.
    eLibrary [bigchalk/Proquest]  Remote Access
    Dates of coverage: Periodicals (1981-present); Multimedia (historical to present) Total titles covered: 1,500+ Formats: Full text, Text+Graphics, Multimedia (.jpeg images, QuickTime video, web links, and .wav audio) Subjects: General Reference, business, education, general interest, health, language arts, sciences, social sciences, and many other curriculum-specific subject areas. Every magazine, journal, newspaper, book, and transcript is provided in 100 percent full-text--saving valuable search time and reducing the frustration of abstract-only results. Multimedia content supplements and enhances text-only information. Funded by SEMLS.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Emergency Response Guidebook 2004 (ERG2004) - CANUTEC New 20 Nov 07
    A guide to aid first responders in quickly identifying the specific or generic hazards of the material(s) involved in the incident, and protecting themselves and the general public during the initial response phase of the transportation incident involving dangerous goods.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Encarta
    Microsoft's online encyclopedia, dictionary, thesaurus, and world atlas.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Encyclopedia Britannica Online New 9 Jun 08
    This free, online version of the classic print source has advertisements.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Encyclopedia Of Life New 28 Feb 08
    An "ecosystem of websites that makes all key information about all life on Earth". Use for biodiversity, zoology, taxonomy, classification, species identification.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Entrez, The Life Sciences Search Engine - National Center for Biotechnology Information
    Provides access to searching individual databases (such as PubMed, PubMed Central, OMIN, Human Genome, GenBank) or to searching across all the NCBI databases simultaneously.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Energy Citations Database - U.S. Government, Department of Energy
    Index to reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents for energy related scientific and technical information. Includes chemistry, physics, environmental science, geology, engineering, math, climatology, oceanography, computer science. Covers 1948-present.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Envirofacts Data Warehouse - U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
    Use for information pertaining to your geographic (U.S.) area, or choose a Topic for more in-depth questions and answers about your area. Use the Quick Start to search by Zipcode. See also: Toxics Release Inventory (TRI)
    Environment Complete [Ebsco]
    Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
    Environmental Career Opportunities (ECO) & ECO for Colleges [MMA ONLY]
    Over 500 current environmental jobs every 2 week. This is a password protected website - Ask Us! if you need the username & password to search this website.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Environmental Fate Data Base
    Multiple databases with physical, chemical, environmental fate, and degradation properties of chemical and compounds.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Environmental Health and Toxicology - National Library of Medicine
    Collection of databases on hazardous chemicals, toxic releases, and environmental health.
    ERIC [EBSCO] Tutorial
    The Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge ERIC
    A "free" web-based version of ERIC sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. It contains nearly 1.1 million citations to ERIC documents (ED references) and journal articles (EJ references). ERIC also provides users with access to an increasing number of full-text documents. ERIC includes material from 1966 to the present.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge ETOH
    Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database of journal articles, books, dissertation abstracts, conference papers and proceedings, reports and studies, and chapters in edited works.
    Expanded Academic ASAP [Thompson/Gale-Infotrac]
    1980-present. From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Indexes scholarly journals, general interest periodicals, newsmagazines - many with full text and images.

    A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  XYZ

    Back to Top

    F

    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Federal Register - US Government Printing Office
    Daily regulatory changes and announcements, including health and research.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
    Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in MFI; for these, check library catalogs that have strong collections in medieval studies.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Field Guides, International - University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign New 30 Jan 08
    Use this searchable database to find field guides for plants, animals, and other objects in North America and around the world. Data comes from A Guide to Field Guides: Identifying the Natural History of North America by Diane Schmidt and its companion Web site International Field Guides. Once you identify a field guide you want to use, you can get a copy of the book:
    1. Search our SAILS library catalog
    2. Search the Virtual Catalog
    3. Request the book via Interlibrary Loan
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Film Literature Index
    Contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge FishBase: A Global Information System on Fishes - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
    Contains practically all fish species known to science and includes taxonomic information. Caters to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists, etc.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Forbes list: America's Largest Private Companies
    Contains information on revenues and profits.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Free Patents Online
    Search for patents. Registration if free. You must register to view images, which are in PDF format, and use other features.
    Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia [EBSCO] Tutorial

    A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  XYZ

    Back to Top

    G

    Gale Virtual Reference Library. [Thompson/Gale Virtual Reference Library] Alternate access Powersearch
    General Business File ASAP [Thompson/Gale-Infotrac]
    Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available. Use to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry rating, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc. Includes business and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles.
    General Reference Center, Gold [Thompson/Gale-Infotrac]
    A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge gethuman database
    Use to find secret phone numbers and codes to get to a live human when calling a company for customer service. Tips in this database will help you get past the interactive voice response ("ivr"), the name for the computers who answer most phone calls these days. The gethuman project is a consumer movement to improve the quality of phone support in the US.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Google Book Search
    Use for full-text access to copies of out-of-copyright books - the classics! Locate information in context from copyrighted books you can borrow from the MMA Library, the Virtual Catalog, or through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Google Directory: Science
    Google's list of free journals and other open access resources for science. Includes a link to Mathematics resources.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Google Scholar
    Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Supports cited reference searching. Includes recent or unpublished work that is not indexed in other databases. Note: Access to licensed resources is limited to MMA subscriptions.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge GovEngine.com
    GovEngine, Inc. a non-profit organization, provides organized links to federal, state and local government sites.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge GPO Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) - U.S. Government Printing Office New 5 Sep 07
    Use to find federal publications. Includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
    • GPO Access - U.S. Government Printing Office
      Use to find official information from all three branches of the U.S. Federal Government including laws, regulations, Presidential papers, budget documents, Supreme Court decisions, Congressional reports, and more.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Grants.Gov
    The new unified clearinghouse for all federal grant opportunities from all federal agencies that manage grant funds. Grants.gov currently uses a Windows-only solution for electronic grant submission. The PureEdge viewer is required to complete grant application packages and, at this time, there is no native Macintosh PureEdge client. If you use a Mac see: Grants.gov for Mac OS X
    Grants - IRIS (Illinois Researcher Information Service)
    Resources for grants includes free access to many sites. You can not search the entire IRIS database without a subscription.
    GreenFILE [EBSCO] New 29 Mar 08
    A bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns. Offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment, drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

    A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  XYZ

    Back to Top

    H

    Health Reference Center- Academic [Thompson/Gale-Infotrac]
    Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only (1980 - Aug 2005).
    Health Source - Consumer Edition [EBSCO] Tutorial
    Covers consumer health information on topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Includes searchable full text for nearly 150 journals. This database is updated daily.
    Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition [EBSCO] Tutorial
    Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines Covers nearly 850 journals. This database is updated daily.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge HighWire Press
    Free online full-text science and engineering articles. As of 19 July 2005, HighWire Press offers free access to 930,952 full-text articles and 2,375,371 total articles. HighWire has an excellent search engine (http://highwire.stanford.edu/cgi/search/) and links to useful scientific and engineering resources.
    Homeland Security Digital Library [MMA ONLY]
    HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security & the Naval Postgraduate School, Center for Homeland Defense and Security. Includes homeland security strategy, policy and research documents published by: Federal, state and local government agencies, international governments, research institutions, universities, and think tanks.
    SeekOnce Multi-Database Search by category or across multiple data sets.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Homeland Security Information Center - NTIS
    Resource for scientific and technical information from the U.S. Government, its contractors, and complementary material from international sources. Categorized by major security concerns: health & medicine, food & agriculture, bio and chemical warfare, preparedness and response, and safety training. Products are available in a variety of formats: electronic download, online access, computer products, multimedia, microfiche and paper. Contact us if you need materials from HSIC that must be purchased.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Hoovers New 15 May 08
    Use to find business information on companies, industries and executives.

    A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  XYZ

    Back to Top

    I

    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge IBC ASIA (S) Pte Ltd.
    The Asian business arm of Informa Group plc, a publicly listed company on the London Stock Exchange. The topics and issues listed on all conference agendas are thoroughly researched to reflect the ongoing concerns of the industry. Includes some market information.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge IEEE Spectrum
    Explores future technology trends and the impact of those trends on society and business.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Index to Organism Names
    ION contains all the animal, plant, and virus names data found within the Thomson BIOSIS literature databases - Zoological Record, BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts. The Guide to the Animal Kingdom is an abbreviated classification scheme that represents a fairly traditional view of animal phylogeny.
    InfoTrac OneFile (1980 - present) [Thompson/Gale-Infotrac]
    A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles. Updated daily.
    International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center [Ebsco]
    Offers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism. Designed to inform the analysis process, as well as enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues. Provides a comprehensive Open Source Intelligence Resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students. Content includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, blogs, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Internet Archive (access the WayBack Machine)
    A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Internet Guide to Engineering, Mathematics, and Computing
    Access networked engineering, mathematics and computing information including e-journals, databases, training materials, professional societies, university and college departments, research projects, bibliographic databases, software, information services and recruitment agencies.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Internet History Sourcebooks
    Primary and secondary full text sources divided into ancient, medieval and modern periods of history.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge The Internet Speculative Fiction Database - The Cushing Library Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Collection and Institute for Scientific Computation at Texas A&M
    The ISFDB is a community effort to catalog works of fiction. It links together various types of bibliographic data: author bibliographies, publication bibliographies, award listings, magazine content listings, anthology and collection content listings, and forthcoming books.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge Internet History Sourcebooks
    Primary and secondary full text sources divided into ancient, medieval and modern periods of history.
    Open Access: accessible to the public, freely and without charge In the First Person
    Index to over 3,000 collections of letters, diaries, oral histories, and other personal narratives available freely on the web and from Alexander Street Press. Includes full-text content when available.
    Issues & Controversies in American History