Smart Start @ MMA Library
Search the Library Catalog
HOURS
Key Databases for MMA
Off-Campus Access
What's New
SUGGESTIONS
Recommend purchasing a book or journal
|  |
 |
Subject Guide

Business Resources
CHOOSE YOUR TOPIC
 |
USE BOOKS to Find Basic Information About Your Topic
|
 |
Reference books - Online
Credo reference (Concept Map)
Oxford Reference Online (e.g., Ency. of Economic History)
MasterFILE Premier. Covers all subjects of general interest, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
|
 |
Wiley e-books - Business
|
3G Marketing
Dictionary of e-Business
Enabling eBusiness |
Managing Complex Systems
Probability and Finance: It's Only a Game!
Service Design for Six Sigma
|
|
 |
ebrary e-books - Sample titles
|

USE DATABASES to CHOOSE A TOPIC and for RESEARCH
[Hint: use databases to find scholarly journal articles]
 |
Starting Points :: These databases cover all subjects
|

 |
e-Resources for Business
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
OTHER GOOD RESOURCES: SUBJECT-SPECIFIC
- Patent and Trademark Office, United States
|
 |
FIND NEWSPAPER and NEWS MAGAZINE ARTICLES
|
 |
Issues & Topics :: Point-Counterpoint (pros & cons)
|
 |
FREE INTERLIBRARY LOAN
- Ask the Librarian if you need books or journal articles we do not have.
We'll get your research materials from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery.
|
 |
Business and Economics Websites
-
Bureau of Labor Statistics
A mine of current statistical data and reports covering consumer spending, employment, wages, productivity, occupations, international trade, and industries as well as "The U.S. Economy at a Glance." The Bureau is a unit of the U.S. Department of Labor.
-
Economic Census, 2002
Undertaken every five years, the economic census gathers data on retail, wholesale, manufacturing, and other business by state and local subdivision. Results for 2002 will contain more than 16,000 reports.
-
Economic Report of the President
Prepared annually by the chair of the Council of Economic Advisers, this publication explains the rationale for the president's budget submitted to Congress. Of particular interest are the tables that cover income, production, and employment in time series. The report is available in PDF format (1995 to the present).
-
globalEDGE
Offers worldwide business information, including methods of comparing country data, country background information, an annual compilation of market potential indicators, breaking news of interest to the business community, and a glossary of international business terms. The site was created by the Center for Business Education and Research at Michigan State University.
-
OSU Virtual Finance Library
Well-organized links on banks, exchanges, and market news, with pages for various audiences: students, researchers, executives, investors, and educators. The site is provided by the Department of Finance, Ohio State University.
-
SEC Filings and Forms (EDGAR)
Provides information about publicly held corporations, which are required by federal law to file reports on their activities with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Most reports filed from 1994 to the present are publicly available through the EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval System) database at this site. Information in company reports includes financial status, chief officers, stock information, company history, pending litigation that might have an economic impact on the company, and more. The site provides a brief tutorial for searching EDGAR.
-
U.S. Congressional Budget Office
Offers material compiled by a nonpartisan office for congressional decision making. The site includes federal budget analysis; the economic outlook; analysis of specific topics on housing, health, education, national security, and telecommunications; and more.
-
VIBES: Virtual International Business and Economics Resources
Provides nearly 3,000 links to sites related to international business and economics. Links include free full-text files of recent articles, reports, and statistical tables, organized by topics such as international trade law, patents, emerging markets, and regional and national sites. Compiled by Jeanie M. Welch of the J. Murrey Atkins Library, University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
Reference sources
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management: Business Ethics. Ed. Patricia Werhane and R. Edward Freeman. 2nd ed. Cambridge: Blackwell, 2005.
Offers substantial entries written by experts in business ethics on such topics as equal opportunity, corporate crime, participatory management, environmental risk, business ethics in different cultures, and electronic surveillance. This work is part of the series - The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management.
- Encyclopedia of Business and Finance. Ed. Burton S. Kalinski. 2 vols. New York: Macmillan Reference, 2001.
Offers over 300 articles on accounting, economics, finance, information systems, ethics, management, and marketing, with a U.S. focus.
- Encyclopedia of Political Economy. Ed. Philip Anthony O'Hara. 2 vols. London: Routledge, 1999.
Provides analyses of topics related to money and finance, labor, family and gender, political ideologies, development, theoretical schools, and methodology.
- New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics. Ed. John Eatwell et al. 4 vols. London: Macmillan Reference; New York: Stockton Press, 1987.
A revision of the classic Palgrave's Dictionary of Political Economy, offering lengthy, scholarly analyses of economic theories and theorists. Consult newer publications for emerging economic theory and analysis.
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law. Ed. Peter Newman et al. 3 vols. London: Macmillan Reference; New York: Stockton Press, 1998.
Offers international in-depth coverage of such topics as antitrust, cartels, contracts, civil procedure, theories of economics with legal import, taxation, securities regulation, and property rights.
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Money and Finance. Ed. Peter Newman et al. 3 vols. London: Macmillan Reference; New York: Stockton Press, 1992.
Defines financial terms and provides detailed discussions of concepts related to monetary economics, finance, and banking.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History. Ed. Joel Mokyr. 5 vols. New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
Covers concepts and theories, economic development, background on countries and regions, and the history of specific products such as oil and coffee.
|

|
|