MMA home           Captain Charles H. Hurley Library
Smart Start
@ MMA Library
Search the
Library Catalog

HOURS
Key Databases
for MMA

Off-Campus Access

Subject Guides
&Tutorials

  What's New
 SUGGESTIONS
Recommend purchasing
a book or journal

Subject Guide

             Census Data - Research Sources
CHOOSE YOUR TOPIC
    Use Reference Books

    Use the Online Catalog to
    Find Books
      print & e-books
Use Databases to
Find Scholarly Journal Articles
  • Refine Your Topic
  • Starting Points
  • Find Journal Articles
  • Find Newspaper Articles
  • Subject-Specific Databases
          AVOID PLAGIARISM     Cite Your Sources

CHOOSE YOUR TOPIC
Reference books - Online: Encyclopedias and handbooks
Find Books: Search the Library Catalog
 

ebrary e-books - Sample titles
      2000 Census
Designing the 2010 Census
Mexican immigration to the United States
Back to Top
USE DATABASES to CHOOSE A TOPIC and for RESEARCH
[Hint: use databases to find scholarly journal articles]
Starting Points :: All subjects are covered by these general databases
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED Resources for Census Data
  • American Fact Finder - U.S. Census Bureau
    Provides population, housing, income, economic and geographic data. Selected data from 1990 and 2000 with mapping feature.
    • Data Sets
    • Maps
      • Thematic (data)
      • Reference (boundaries)
    • Tools & Reference
      • Data Extraction Tools
      • State and County Quick Facts
      • USA Counties in Profile - Comparable indicators
  • Journal Article (sample from a database)
    Estimating the Population in a Census Year: 1980 and Beyond, by Eugene P. Ericksen and Joseph B. Kadane. Journal of the American Statistical Association. Retrieved on 14 Oct 2009 from JSTOR: http://www.jstor.org/stable/2288051
FREE INTERLIBRARY LOAN
  • Ask the Librarian if you need books or journal articles we do not have. We'll get your research materials from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery.

Back to Top


MMA Home || MMA Library || SAILS Library Network || Academic Calendar

To report problems include this webpage address.
SSB est. 2 Oct 2009; last revision 14 Oct 2009