Smart Start @ MMA Library
Search the Library Catalog
HOURS
Key Databases for MMA
Powersearch
Off-Campus Access
Subject Guides &Tutorials
What's New
SUGGESTIONS
Recommend purchasing a book or journal
|  |
 |
Subject Guide

Resources for English Composition Classes
PRINT RESOURCES
Books, subject encyclopedia(s), directories, handbooks, bibliographies, indexes, etc.
Search SAILS - the Library Catalog - by subject, by title, or by author to find books and other print resources.
If you can't find a book in SAILS - ask the library staff how you can borrow books from another library through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
 |
REFERENCE BOOKS: In print & Online 24/7
- Xrefer and Oxford Reference Online
-
MasterFILE Premier. Provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications. Covers all subjects of general interest, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
|
 |
DATABASES: SOME WITH FULL-TEXT JOURNAL ARTICLES ONLINE 24/7
Check MMA Library website for subject-specific databases
|
|
Starting Points - all subjects are covered by these databases
-
Academic Search Premier. Provides full text to journal articles.
-
Expanded Academic. Indexes scholarly journals, general interest periodicals, news magazines - many with full text and images.
-
Academic OneFile. Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
-
InfoTrac OneFile. Good source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles.
|
|
Historical Documents
-
American Memory Project. Primary source materials from the Library of Congress, includes digital items such as George Washington's letters, Civil War photographs, women sufferage materials, early maps, etc.
-
ProQuest. Full-text articles from the Patriot Ledger (1995 to present), New York Times (1999 to present) and Wall Street Journal (1982 to present).
|
NEED HELP FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES? Ask the Librarian if you need help searching online databases to find full-text journal articles. We can also get journal articles for you from other libraries.

WEB SITES |
|
|
|