MMA home           Captain Charles H. Hurley Library
Smart Start
@ MMA Library
Search the
Library Catalog

HOURS
Key Databases
for MMA

Off-Campus Access

Subject Guides
&Tutorials

  What's New
 SUGGESTIONS
Recommend purchasing
a book or journal

Subject Guide

             Writing a Research Paper
  1. CHOOSE YOUR TOPIC
2. RESEARCH YOUR TOPIC
    Use Books - Print
    Use e-books - Online
        ebrary
        Wiley

    Use Databases
      Find Journal Articles
      Find Newspaper Articles
      Subject-Specific Databases
3. ENRICH YOUR WORK
4. AVOID PLAGIARISM

CHOOSE & RESEARCH YOUR TOPIC
USE BOOKS to Find Basic Information About Your Topic

     Find Books: Search the Library Catalog
     

Reference books - Online
  • Credo reference (Concept Map)
  • Oxford Reference Online (e.g., Ency. of Economic History)
  • MasterFILE Premier
  • ebrary e-books
    Wiley e-books
    Back to Top
    USE DATABASES to CHOOSE A TOPIC and for RESEARCH
    [Hint: use databases to find scholarly journal articles]
    Starting Points :: These databases cover all subjects
    Back to Top
    e-Resources for Literature, Biographies & Literary Criticism
    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    REFINE YOUR TOPIC with these Databases
          Issues & Topics :: Point-Counterpoint (pros & cons)
    Use Subject Databases: Some have Full Text Journal Articles Online 24/7
    Check MMA Library website for subject-specific databases

    FIND NEWSPAPER and NEWS MAGAZINE ARTICLES
    Back to Top
    ENRICH YOUR WORK
    Primary Sources :: Historical Documents
    • American Memory Project. Primary source materials from the Library of Congress, includes digital items such as George Washington's letters, Civil War photographs, women sufferage materials, early maps, etc.
    • Newspapers (see above)
    Essays
    Images

    FREE INTERLIBRARY LOAN
    Ask the Librarian if you need books or journal articles we do not have. We'll get your research materials from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery.

    Back to Top


    MMA Home || MMA Library || SAILS Library Network || Academic Calendar

    To report problems include this webpage address.
    SSB est. 3 Apr 2007; last revision 14 Apr 2008